In its current form, the School of Medicine and Dentistry is a purely Clinical School offering two (2) programmes, namely: Medicine (Regular and GEMP) and Dentistry. The School of Medicine and Dentistry is made up of the following departments:

  1. Anaesthesia
  2. Anatomy
  3. Biomedical Sciences
  4. Child Health
  5. Chemical Pathology
  6. Community Health
  7. Medicine and Therapeutics
  8. Medical Microbiology
  9. Medical Pharmacology
  10. Medical Biochemistry
  11. Obstetrics and Gynaecology
  12. Skills & simulation centre
  13. Psychiatry
  14. Physiology
  15. Haematology
  16. Radiology
  17. Surgery
  18. Centre for Tropical Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics

There are seven (7) Departments in Medicine and seven (7) Dentistry Departments with one centre, the Centre for Tropical and Clinical Pharmacology Therapeutics.

Medicine Departments
They are: Obstetrics & Gynaecology, Child Health, Surgery, Medicine & Therapeutics, Radiology, Psychiatry, Anaesthesia. The eight relevant department, Community Health, is under the School of Public Health. Other support Units include: The Administration, GEMP Secretariat, Skill and Simulation Centre, International Students Hostel, the Students Hostel, Research and Alumni Office.

Dentistry Departments
They are: Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine, Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, Restorative Dentistry, Biomaterials Science, Community & Preventive Dentistry, Orthodontics & Pedodontics and Oral Biology.